Talking about Beauty Beauty – Kim Hyun Joong

What’s up? 🙂 Today I’ll be talking about Beauty Beauty by Kim Hyun Joong, who I’ve actually already met (#tbt, long story hehe :3). I read the comments in the video (just for the fun of it) and I noticed that many people had negative thoughts about this video :S Enough rambling though, let’s talk about what I think! Kim Hyun Joong was part of SS501 with DSP Media from 2005-2010. Once his contract had expired with the company, he joined KeyEast. He debuted as a solo artist in 2011. Song: The song is nice! It’s a cool summer song and fun in its own way. Out of the song and the video though, the video was definitely the aspect that stood out to me more, and I think I developed greater positive for the song because of the video (which is one of the main purposes for a music video, isn’t it? :D) I don’t think that this is the type of song I would listen to by myself, but it’s a good song that fits with the fresh concept he’s going for (Or… that I at least think he’s going for? If neither is the case, let’s just say that’s what I thought the release had. :3 Music Video: Now to the part that I really wanted to talk about! 😀 Contrary to a lot of negativity I saw about the video, I actually loved it and found it really fun to watch! First of all, I want to talk about the set/location of this video because damn, it is really cool! 😀 So dynamic and interesting (with all the movement going on, whether it be the props, the people in the background, etc). :3 Did you guys also notice when the money Kim Hyun Joong handed to the cab driver slipped from his hands, and the dude tried to catch it? Haha! 😛 I loved the colorful writing that popped up, as well as the cartoon drawing? decorations? type things that made the video much more attention-grabbing (not to mention that the designs were really pretty). The plot was pretty simple, yet straight-forward and easy to understand, which is a positive trait about this video. Oh, and how can I not mention the awesome camerawork? Seriously, I love creative music videos and the way they followed Kim Hyun Joong’s movement into this fluid action made the video never boring, at least to me. I mean, there were some cheesy-ish aspects to it, like the fireworks at the end, but I think all the cool stuff that went into the video, such as the sets, the camerawork, the editing, etc., all made the cheesiness not as prominent. Just like how the song has a fresh concept, the video definitely has this too. I liked this video (which had a musical-type feel to me)! 🙂 Overall, the song was cool and the video was awesome! 😀 I probably wouldn’t download the song, but that’s obviously just a personal preference (I don’t think I would really listen to it.) I’m seriously impressed with the awesome videos that have been released these days (or at least some of those that I’ve talked about recently). 😀 What did you guys think about this? Let me know! Next time I’ll be talking about B1A4, so stay tuned for that 😀 Hugs from your fellow K-Popper! ❤

Leave a Reply

